Lots of interesting things have happened since February.  I left my regular locum role in an independent to try “proper” locuming (where I travelled the length and breadth of the central belt*) for a month before starting back at university.

My experience of locuming has been mainly positive.  I went back to the company (and, indeed, the practice at one point) where I spent my pre-reg.  Except this time, I was earning more in a single day than I was getting for a week’s work.  I really liked the flexibility of locuming but I found myself going back to the same practice over and over because I liked the store, the patients and the staff.  It makes such a difference when you are part of a team who works well together.  Having went to various stores, both busy, city centre practices and out of the way, shopping centre ones, it is amazing how different they are even though they are all owned by the same company.

Some practices, I was treated as part of the team and between patients, I chatted with the optical consultants and in others, I was pretty much told to stay in my room! One even had a pretty passive aggressive “locum” folder which put me right in my place.

I’ve ended up with a regular day in the store I liked the best.  It’s a little out of the way for me but I don’t mind driving for a little longer in order to work with such lovely people.

The main news is that I’m back at university studying for a PhD.  This is something I’ve wanted to do for some time but I was waiting for the right project to come along.

Anyway, this was a quick update.  I’m going to try to put aside an hour a week to blog because I’ve got so many stories to share.

 

 

* Slight exaggeration as the furthest I went from home was Fife but after 1.5 hours of driving in the snow, I felt like I was in another country.

