It’s been a while since I updated so I thought I’d just pop by to reassure you that I’m still here and still blogging.  Exciting news though: I’m starting work in an independent tomorrow.  It’s a change I’ve wanted to make for a while.  While my last place of work was filled with wonderful, supportive people and interesting patients, it wasn’t the right environment for me.

Working in a multiple is a bit of a balancing act.  Your first priority is the patient, as always, but then there are conversion targets, sales targets, on-line feedback scores and you have to promote other services like hearing care, laser eye surgery and contact lens schemes.  It’s like a giant check list that changes slightly from week to week depending on what headquarters have decided.  Stores are compared to one another when they really shouldn’t be – for example, a city centre practice and one in a rural area will have different demographics so one size doesn’t fit all.

I feel lucky to have worked with some amazing optometrists, dispensing opticians and optical consultants in that multiple setting but now it’s time for a change.

I’ll be working 9 to 5, Monday to Friday.  This will allow me to pursue my other passions.

Also, if you’ve been wondering why I’ve been so quiet for the last couple of months, it’s because I’ve been on holiday.  So, happy new year and I’ll update when I have an interesting story to tell.

DCIM100MEDIA

Diving with my husband in the Maldives

