I’m pleased to announce a new pre-reg blog.  I’ve been qualified a year now and, although I will continue to post my experiences as an optom, there’s nothing like reading about the pre-reg experience as it’s happening.

Iain studied at Cardiff before starting his pre-reg in a well known multiple.  He blogged as an optom student and is continuing, now as a shiny new pre-reg.  Here’s a link:

http://optometryiain.blogspot.co.uk/

I would encourage anyone reading this to start a journal or blog.  It doesn’t need to be anything spectacular, just a free Word Press one like me or a Blogspot one like Iain.  You can either keep it private to watch how you grow as an optom and professional over your pre-reg or you can make it public and add your voice to the (very) small community of optometry bloggers.

In the past two years, I’ve had several thousand visitors from all over the world (hello to Botswana, Malaysia, Portugal, Sweden, USA, Japan, Mauritius, Australia, Mexico, Cayman Islands to name a few!) and lots of wonderful comments from people who have discovered this blog and found it readable (and sometimes helpful).  You can start your own in a few minutes and you don’t need to write semi-novellas like me, you can just share tips or interesting stories as often (or not) as you like.  If you get one up and running, I’d be pleased to promote it through this blog and by tweet.

Anyway, I’m off for the next couple of days and I have a big decision to make (more about that later) so I’ll probably update in the next day or two.

