So I’m in the grey area between passing my OSCEs and getting my GOC number and NHS number. I started sending forms away on the Monday after the OSCE results (28th July) but, unfortunately, there are almost 400 NQs doing exactly the same thing.  I managed to get my insurance from the AOP sorted and then it was a mad dash to find someone to sign a photo for the GOC (I have a family friend who is in the police but is now dangerously close to retiring so I’ll need to find another pillar of the community who has known me for >2 years).  The GOC form, for some weird reason, has to be posted to the College who then send it to the GOC.  This seems to add another week onto the process.

I’m still job hunting and am now thinking about locuming.  Locuming at this early stage in my career isn’t ideal but it’s experience (and money).  Locuming also means that I need to change lists on the NHS which, again, will probably add time to this period of inactivity.  I’m finding the whole process quite frustrating, especially since I’ve had no help navigating the admin.

A couple of my friends are sitting the September OSCEs and we’re going to meet up to do some revision.  This is something I used to do in uni: spend a day, a few days before each exam, going through past papers and chatting about the course.  I wish I had the opportunity to do something like that before my own OSCEs, even if it was just a little chat about what we would say or how we would do something.  I learn most when I’m in that sort of environment, when there’s a to and fro of ideas and we have to think about what we are doing and saying.  After a year in practice, we may have disconnected slightly from the “why” of what we are doing.  For example, I found out that one of the pre-regs I know does the +1.00DS blur test on everyone.  It’s become part of the routine, full stop, no thought required.

My approach to revision for the OSCEs was to read the College management guidelines and memorise their referral guidelines as well as reading through the summary notes I’d kept from uni.  Dave Elliot’s Clinical Procedures in Primary Eye Care was read cover to cover as was Kanski’s Synopsis.  I skimped a bit on contact lenses and I really shouldn’t have – that was me being all confident since I have done so much contact lens work.

In other news, I’ve used the last few weeks to learn to sew and adopt a dog.  

Sewing:

2014-08-17 18.16.13

Dog:

DSC_8014

The big, black labradoodle is my new dog, Monty, seen here playing with my medium, light coloured, Lhasa Apso, Indie.  Monty came from the Dogs Trust and is deaf.  He’s also very smart and makes my other dogs look a bit dim.

Anyway, I’ll keep you updated on my job hunt and my experiences locuming (if and when they happen!).  

